WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Little Bird…

…joss stick holder. I forget to use it but when I do remember I love the smell.
I said I wasn’t going to any gardening today but I ended up planting the two dwarf Apple trees into open ground and to do this I had to move the new Dogwood and Witch Hazel over a bit. I found out that Dogwood and Apple are good companions as the Dogwood attracts insects that eat Apple tree pests and is also deep rooted and brings nutrients to the Apple tree roots.
Other than that I didn’t really do much else today but we sat out in the sun a few times for coffee and tea. 
The birds are getting more confident in our presence and come to the feeders and look for worms near to us. I love it! 
It made me think of the young Blackbird I rescued at our last house in Scotland. I found him not yet fledged but already quite big. I made him a little shelter behind the compost bin and fed him every day. He used to sit at the back door and wait for me and even came in to the conservatory to get raisins. One day he managed to jump onto a low wall, then one a bit higher which he flew off and onto the lawn. one morning I went outside and he wasn’t there and then I heard him call and when I looked up he was on next doors roof looking down at me, singing his wee heart out. I felt so happy for him.
This poem came to mind.

108/365 Hope 2

Hope is the baby bird
you found on the lawn
and nurtured, until one day
it flapped its tiny wings
and flew away.

Goodnight :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.