lemonzest

By lemonzest

Going down!

I slipped of for an extended walk with the camera this morning and spotted a couple of species I hadn't seen before plus some better known ones. Indeed I even managed some larks in flight and my first swallow of the year. The music of the birds was loud and quite magical.

A wood grouse scuttled into the undergrowth and several thrush-like birds were on a grassy field by the edge of the forest, maybe golden plovers. I'm still looking out for some bustards which I saw a few years ago. I had hoped to find the cranes, one of which flew around the house earlier, but they were out.

This nuthatch was one of a pair obligingly sharing a tree with some great tits. I think its colouring is slightly different to the UK ones. I was pleased to get it running down the tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.