Commotion

As I was discussing work plans and budgets on a call I was drowned out by a helicopter overhead, moving hither and thither.

It was much more enthralling when I walked to the beach where the helicopter was collecting water from the bay, and ferrying it to an area of town where a fire had broken out closer to the dunes. I asked a bloke whether fires were normal in April in Cape Town and he confirmed they can happen at any time of year and this was most likely ‘some idiot with a cigarette butt in the dunes’.

I had been surprised as the rest of southern Africa is entering the cooler and drier winter period now after a hotter and wetter summer period of several months. After reading up I now understand that Cape Town has almost the opposite rainfall pattern, with stormy wet winter weather the norm. We can thank those roiling Atlantic waters around the Cape for this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.