Surprises

We have had a very wet day but the garden will love it.  Apart from cutting roses this morning I haven't left the house.  While in the garden I saw these objects hanging from the tree that has the bird feeder hanging in it.  I was puzzled.  The first thought was that they were there to stop the bees drinking the sugar water but that didn't make sense.  I lifted the little plastic cape on one and it reveal a miniature bottle of gin.  Okay, gin bottles wearing raincoats mmmm.  It's not my birthday so maybe they are a gift from Doris and her friends to say thank you for the flowers I grow that they gather nectar from.  I was sure Andrew had something to do with it.  It wasn't until he came for morning tea and gave me a clue to read his recent blip that it fell into place.  He had made me a Gin and Tonic tree.  He has a very good poker face and he wasn't letting on it was him until the end.     

Ten Green Bottles  


 . . . Five green bottles hanging on the wall,
Five green bottles hanging on the wall,
And if one green bottle should accidentally fall,
There’ll be four green bottles hanging on the wall . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.