Back to Wincobank and Woolley

I used the car satnav yesterday, when driving to Woolley Wood. Having opted for the 'shortest route', it took me through side roads in Firth Park, Page Hall and then Wincobank: I know the first two areas fairly well, but not the third. That's how I came across the sculptures.
I did revisit those today (extras), and also found Wincobank Picture Palace (main), in a side street among terraced houses. I discover, online, that it's been up for sale for over two years. Yours for around £200,000.  The exterior is in fairly good nick. Inside many original features have been lost, however, as it's been in use as a builder's merchant for some time. I'm wondering, now, if I might be able to get access to take some photos, before it gets reworked as apartments (which I think is the plan).
While I was looking at the sculptures, a man asked me (in a friendly way) what I was doing. I explained why I was interested, and he went off after a short chat. But he'd clearly gone to talk to someone else, because soon a woman came out of the church opposite and gave me a leaflet all about the sculptures and the art project/trail that they were originally part of. I was really touched by their friendliness and enthusiasm.  I think that various community groups use the church, and the sculptures are much-loved and watched-over.  Both people commented on the absence of vandalism and graffiti on the works, even though they've been in place for some years.
So although I took 100s of photos of Woolley Wood in early morning light  (I was out of the house before 7 a.m.), it's these Wincobank images that really made the trip for me today.
And apart from that, I've been following the manoeuvrings in the House of Commons. It seems to me that Labour have handled 'partygate' etc well this week. By putting forward a motion in very careful terms, they've made it impossible for Johnson to pull off his usual blah-blah Tory boy tricks, and the spotlight has stayed on his serial dishonesty. Small mercies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.