If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Tyrley Locks

A day of locks.  twenty-five in all.  Here we see Clickychick and "The Mate" taking Solace into one of the five locks in the Tyrley flight.  Our lock working is well practiced.  In flights, I work the lock while CC goes ahead to the next lock "setting" it for us unless of course a boat is approaching and the lock is in their favour.  Without a terribly early start, we had completed the Tyrley Locks by 9:30

One of the things which sticks in my mind, particularly on this flight were Lichens.  Following on from what I learned on my recent course with Into the Hills (of this parish) there were lichen colonies (I hope that is the right word) which must have started growing very soon after the locks were built.  The act of parliament which permitted the Staffordshire and Worcestershire canal was passed on 14/5/1766 so the Lichens probabky started growing in the late years of the 1700s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.