WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Blossom

Brrrrr - it’s been such a cold and very windy day. I stayed in and sorted out the pantry - I say pantry, it’s really just the shelves at the top of the cellar steps. A few months ago Frank put shelving up there for extra storage but over that short time things just got shoved on the shelves and not in the order I had planned! Now everything has a place and everything is in its place. Woe betide anyone who messes my system up…..FRANK!
I also had to venture out in the back garden to bring all the pepper and tomato plants in as, although I had fleece wrapped round them and secured well with pegs, it was not well enough in these high winds.
They are now on the landing and spare room window sills. I was ranting about the wind as I went in and out the back door and Bella May was looking at me with concern. 
I took Bella May for a trot round the block and noticed cherry blossoms falling from the trees.  

After that I made a pot of tea - just for me, as Frank was at his afternoon music session so I had nearly 3 hours to myself. Although I love his company, I also like having some time alone and peace and quiet.

I phoned the lady who came for a ukulele lesson to change the days for the next 2 lessons and told her they would need to be for just an hour. I asked her how she was getting on - I don’t know if I said but I lent her one of mine to practice on until her own one arrives. She said she hadn’t practised yet and hadn’t ordered her Uke! Hmmm - how keen is she? I couldn’t put my uke down when I learnt to play. We’ll see. 

Todays poem came to me when I saw the blossoms falling.

112/365 
Blossoms and Bombs

In my quiet and pleasant village
Cherry Blossom falls from the trees
Then are swept along the roads
By a brisk and cold spring breeze

Those of you who know me, 
Will know I don’t like windy days
So I mostly stayed indoors and
Set the wood burner ablaze

And as it glowed I got to thinking
As I held my hot mug of tea
How incredibly lucky I am
To be warm and fed and free

I looked out of my window
Watched the falling blossoms
And thought about Ukraine
Over there, it’s just falling bombs.

Goodnight Blip friends. 
Have a good weekend ;-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.