Flight

A morning spent on what my sons call ‘life admin’ opens out into an afternoon walk around the reserve at Conwy. I’ve deliberately gone armed with my macro lens so I can focus on flowers - and hopefully butterflies, working on the premise that I’m more likely to find them here than in the cultivated beauty on Bodnant. But of course, I just can’t resist the temptation to carry my 600mm lens - it’s a bird sanctuary after all. 

Well there are certainly flowers on offer - though today they are in a collage extra - and I even manage to spot my first peacock butterfly  resting on a tree stump (this just doesn’t make the cut). But today it’s the birds in flight that star. 

I’ve never seen a pheasant here before, but today we come across a beauty strutting in the sun - an irresistible subject. But then, as we continue towards the estuary there’s a sudden squawking in the undergrowth, and one flies across our path into a tree - I’ve never witnessed pheasant flight or tree roosting before. 

Then, walking along the estuary I hear the tell-tale honking than accompanies a goose flight, and sure enough, a couple of Canada geese sweep over the trees and across the river, wings glinting in the sun. 

So today’s main has the geese in flight across Conwy Mountain, with my flying pheasant in extras (I’d love it to be the main, but it’s just not got the quality ….) plus the flower collage.

Thank you for your sympathy concerning my artichoke misadventure; thankfully, I felt much better today! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.