The Joy of Books

You wouldn't know it from this blip but we are baby sitting Georgie.  She is two and a half and bright as a button.  Her vocabulary and concentration impress me.  We have been spoilt as she was asleep when we got here and wasn't phased when I lifted her out of her cot.  Her and I played her favourite card matching game.  The bunnies have subtle differences e.g one bunny has a blue scarf and one has a green scarf.  That is not a pair.  She could pick those differences.  I made a few mistakes.  We must have done that for a good half an hour and only stopped because mummy and daddy came home.  They gave her dinner and a bath and then went back to the reception.  The blip was caught as she and mummy shared a book I had brought for her.  Before her parents went off it was dark enough to see the first stars out in the sky and she went to look at them and say goodnight to the stars.  Then her and I sat on the couch and read every book in the pile.  I thought what happens now but she accepted her bottle and I tucked her in with it.  When it was finished she gave it to me and snuggled down.  What a breeze.  Now we just have to stay awake until mummy and daddy come home. 
The song was written about the singers daughter Molly. 

Manhattan  Moon     Lucy Kaplansky

  You say you wanna see the moon
Outside of our living room
Over the Manhattan sky
Like we saw last night
You don't understand where she's gone
When the morning comes
And I promise you she'll be back tonight
We'll find her and we'll say goodnight
We'll say goodnight

So you look for her in the books we read
In the shadows curve you show her to me
When the sun goes down and she's there again
Brighter now, your brand new friend
And for me the skyline's changed
Same old buildings rearranged
The sky's a richer shade of blue
And the moon's my new friend too
My new friend too

I used to travel in a straight line
Now I'm walking on a road that winds
You take my hand and we take our time
Oh we take our time
We take our time . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.