Wondrous Aga, I love you!

Here's my big lump of warm metal doing a terrific job of ironing. What a star!

I did the posh ironing too but one of the benefits of a bad back has been the realisation that I can get away with doing a lot less if I want to!

I had a couple of relaxing hours in the hidey hole this afternoon, careful to spell myself. The foisted-on-me quilt top is making (slow) progress. Sunday pm radio is a serious of favourites: R3's The Early Music Show (today's followed the music of a 16th century female Italian composer who became a nun. It was cheaper for a family with too many daughters to dower to marry one off and then send the rest into convents. This prodigiously talented girl went to a convent that was particularly musical, and her music and talent as an organist became well known. Fascinating, but also to our later benefit as it's unlikely she would have been permitted to compose or perform in a secular world unless she'd been exceptionally aristocratic, which she wasn't); then choral evensong (ahhh, more bliss!) and then R2's Sounds of the Seventies (a bit of nostalgia). Music is such a wonderful thing ...

Now cooking a pork joint that has travelled all the way from North Ronaldsay. Smells delicious :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.