The human eye

When I glanced out of this little window today the daffodils really stood out, the sheep hurdles had an interesting bit of geometry and the strained glass was a bit of interest in the foreground. That's what my eyes saw.

But then I took a photo and the stained glass became centre stage, the auto adjust features on the phone wiped out the eye catching bright yellow daffodils which were supposed to be the focal point. I suppose the barricades still look geometric ...

This is why a life ruled by algorithms that think they know best, auto predict you into certain well worn paths and take the clever lateral thinking out of our perception is a boring one. Witness this disappointing picture!

Apart from this deep philosophy (!) I managed a bit of sewing and choir this evening. A deliberately quiet day, knowing I would have to sit a long while in one place tonight. I tried so hard not to fidget but a longer practice than usual with no break until a good 1½hours in was trying. If I'd been a young child my minders would've been shushing me! The notebashing methodology that our director uses is pretty pedantic and makes me impatient as I can sight-read pretty well, but I do understand that we will be performing at the St Magnus Festival, no less, which is a real privilege and the joy of Brahms' unique rich harmonies do make up for it!

As expected, aching tonight :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.