New hens

This morning Lucy and her family came over for coffee. I looked for a low sugar, healthy biscuit recipe, and ended up making a variation on anzac biscuits (topical as it is Anzac day tomorrow in Australia) They went down well and we had a really nice couple of hours chatting, drinking coffee and eating many biscuits in the garden. They also brought me two of their chickens which was very kind.

After lunch Mollie and I took the new chickens to the allotment and then spent a couple of hours rearranging the hen houses and runs, so that the new hens had their own separate house and run, right next to Bluebell and Flora. The white one, Flora is head chicken and was squaring up to new hen Poppins, while new hen Patsy hung behind clucking. They will have a few days like that and then I will put them in together. I had spoken to mum before we went, on facetime, as it is her birthday today. She suggrsted their names, and so in a cryptic way they are named after her! (Although they look identical, so I'm not sure which is which!)

Got back at 5 and Jon and Henry had finished tiling the back wall. It just leaves the bit round the window. They have done a great job. Once the electric was back on, I started dinner, and although a bit later than usual, we sat up the table to eat in the conservatory. I really need to get rid of a piece of furniture in there, then everything will fit properly. Putting it for sale on Facebook marketplace is on my to-do list.

Made my lunch and packed a bag for tomorrow as I am going in to County Hall. Bed at 10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.