A garden day before and after

I've been outside all day, and have felt almost normal;well, like I should. No headache and not noticed the dizziness. It proves I need to be outside not in an office (or shed/bedroom etc) all day....so moving the desk outside.....OK, not really. But uts so nice to feel a bit better.

I managed some of my goals, and cleared the greenhouse, moving a set of shelves into it, so that I can put my delicate seedling if it's cold- or so I thought! Well last night I put my mange tout, beans and corn into the greenhouse as I was worried it may be cold last night. I don't know if it was cold, but the bean and pea seeds, and corn plants were all dug up and eaten by, I assume, mice! I was annoyed for a short while, then decided I quite like mice, and so just need to plant more seeds. It puts me a bit behind but worse case I can buy plants.

Once the honeysuckle was all removed, and the shelves were put into the greenhouse, then I mixed all my soil and grit up and began planting. French beans, 2 types, squash (from Lucy) courgette, mange tout and my last 10 sweetcorn seeds. I also planted sunflower seeds on behalf of my team colleagues, so once they have come up I will allocate them to individuals from the team and plant them on the allotment. I have small seedlings which the mice were not interested in (brussells, Swiss chard and curly kale) which are doing fairly well, although are still quite tiny, and have planted more kale and some beetroot. Hopeful also that my cucumbers will come up. I've put them in a heated propagator to get them started. With the salad leaves I sowed yesterday, I think I should be able to fill the beds I have prepared. So fingers crossed.

Jon and Henry started on the tiling. We have plumped for tiny tiles which I like, and which will be easier to fit around the sockets. I'm really pleased - we are on the downward straight.

Mollie made pizza and now its catch up tv. Gentleman Jack from last week, and Pilgrimage from last night. Finishing off my list of jobs tomorrow I hope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.