Matlaske

My day got gradually better. I felt very tired when I woke up and the headache has been there all day, together with achy neck and shoulders. I must have slept badly. I am still hopeful though, that as I detox my body of sugar, I will start to feel a bit better. We had lots of chats at work, supporting each other - not as nice as in person, but the next best thing on a screen.

After work I took Olive on full power, and cycled to Matlaske where my work friend Lucy lives. It only took us 20 minutes thanks to Olive's battery! I went via Bessingham, and came into the village from the bottom. I had to stop to take a photo of the back of this cottage. Somewhere I used to visit as a little girl, to take my nanna to visit her brother Sidney. So I knew it as Uncle Sidney's but he was actually my great uncle. I have blipped this house and the story before, but it's a good one. I wonder what my Ketteringham ancestors would think about me ending up living in the next village. Any future grandchildren of mine could be Norfolkian and after 100 years I've brought the family back. We do have distant relations still in the area, so I must get onto tracing again.

I swapped some seeds with Lucy and had a chat. Collected some eggs as they have lots from their hens, and my hens are being very lazy! We are going to try to support each other with different planting. I'm going to get as many things started this weekend as I can, the more the merrier as the saying goes. It us going to get cold so I'm going to move my seedling back into the greenhouse.

A quick 20 minute cycle back with some help again from Olive on the steep bits. Mollie had cooked a very tasty curry.

My mind has turned to Friday night. Its usually chocolate, sweets,crisps and a g&t. But instead I have a nice glass of red wine and a small tub of mixed nuts to keep me going. Almonds are particularly good for you. Gardeners world to top it off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.