Corniche

It’s another of our Sunday outings when we leave the house with no planned destination. We head west, postponing the decision whether to go down the valley or along the coast until the point of no return: we continue in the same direction.

For some time we’ve wanted to explore the low Carneddau beyond Conwy mountain - just before they plunge down to the sea, and the area doesn’t disappoint. This is part of Sychnant, and we’re reminded of the days when this was our training ground when we would repeatedly walk up and down the steep slopes in preparation for climbing Mt Kinabalu in Borneo (a bizarre way of celebrating my 50th birthday - and probably the hardest thing I’ve ever done). Today we’re largely on the level, free to enjoy the views and birdsong. 

We come to the small lake that we’ve been seeking - a gorgeous spot - before continuing to the headland for some spectacular views down to the sea. Familiarity breeds contempt they say, and we really overlook just how stunning a route the A55 follows - a Welsh Corniche along the coast. And today with sunshine and a Mediterranean Sea, it seems a long way from our chilly climes. 

Making our way back, we join up with a chap who starts to chat. We find out he’s a trained bird ‘ringer’ - I’ve never really thought about this and it’s fascinating to discover just how long it takes to train etc. Currently, he’s ringing stone chats.  We find out much about birding sights we didn’t even know existed - fascinating, and new destinations for our mini expeditions! 

This evening sees out first visit to the local theatre where we watch Strictly star Johannes Radebe’s show Freedom. I’m always a little suspect of this kind of thing, but it’s a wonderful evening of dance. He is powerful and charismatic, and whilst I’m really not a fan of the constant whooping and clapping, it really is a joyous celebration of both dance and  LGBTQ acceptance. 

It’s been so hard to choose a main today, but in the end I’ve gone for a view of the ‘corniche’ - looking towards the blue haze of Anglesey beyond the scarred rock faces of Penmaenmawr quarry, with three collages of extras. I’m afraid I’m out of time today, and will catch up with journals in the morning. 

Edit: I realised this morning that I’d posted a shot that didn’t show the road at all, making my title rather redundant! I’ve now replaced it with a very similar shot with a small section of the A55 in view. I realise this may or may not been seen as an aesthetic addition! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.