Goldfinch

I spotted this American Goldfinch, also known as the Eastern Goldfinch, in my sister's backyard today. It was hiding in a holly bush just beyond the feeders. It's a male and is already sporting its new feathers for the spring/summer months. In the winter it molts and becomes an olive color. I didn't realize it was the same bird until I did a little research. When I first saw it in amongst the twigs and leaves I thought it was a parakeet that escaped from someone's house. It was so colorful and bright.
I'm absolutely exhausted tonight after a day of exercise and running errands. I need to get to bed earlier tonight. I had picked up a case of bottled water from the store this afternoon and lifting into and out of the grocery cart was as much as my back could handle so when I got home I beeped the car horn thinking my husband would help bring it in the house. I had totally forgot he can't do that now because of his broken arm. So the case of water is sitting in the car waiting for one of my kids to retrieve it. This could take days. I'll probably ride around with it and end up drinking the entire case before it ever gets in the house. Between forgetfulness (mine and theirs) and who is home when I'm home, well you get the idea.
Tomorrow is art class and then my book club lunch meeting. I'm looking forward to both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.