Oh Crap!

Well so much for the all the laughs yesterday. The jokes on me...my husband went to the doctors to have his wrist checked out after his fall yesterday and it seems it's broken!! He has to wear a cast for at least a month and then have it checked again.
A fellow Blipper commented on my Blip from yesterday and asked why it is that we seem to laugh so hard at the misfortune of others. I thought it was good question. Well, I thought, because it's funny that's why!! Perhaps when we laugh at someone else's misfortune it's a subconscious relief of "Thank God that wasn't me." All kidding aside, I think it's just a release of tension. Laughing is just a way to vent our emotions. A study was done a while back that said that laughter at another's misfortune relieved more stress than regular laughter.
As you can see by my nephew's reaction to my husband's fall, I would have to agree with that study! The actor Woody Allen has said: "Tragedy plus distance is comedy." And let's not forget the hilarious misfortunes of Peter Sellers as The Pink Panther too!
So, in other words, it's not our fault and it isn't meant to be malicious in any way. Our entertainment yesterday however is today's problem. We have our vacation coming up and I'll probably have to carry my own luggage now! Damn. ;-) I asked my husband if we could get upgraded to First Class due to his injury. He rolled his eyes at me. We once traveled all thru Italy after he threw his back out on the way to the airport and he said compared to that, this is a piece of cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.