This is the day

By wrencottage

Invisible traffic

My husband had an appointment at the local hospital this morning, and our son kindly drove us there. As we drove past a historic local water fountain, I noticed it was decorated with its annual froth of Queen Anne’s lace, and made a mental note that this would make a good blip later in the day!

The appointment went well, and we were home within about 2½ hours, just in time for lunch, after which we duly went out for our walk. I had deliberately chosen to take with me my 7D crop sensor camera and 70-200 lens in order to be able to get a shot of the water fountain, which is situated on a very busy elongated triangular roundabout, from where we were standing on the Green, some distance away. I altered the drive mode to low speed continuous, in an attempt to get a shot in between the endless stream of cars. I succeeded!

I would have liked to cross the road on to the island for a better shot without lamp posts or traffic signs, but was forbidden by my lovely walking companion from taking my life in my hands to do so!

The fountain was installed by the Metropolitan Fountain and Cattle Trough Association, and still has some of its original metal fittings. I don't know how old it is, but clearly when it was erected the traffic was not as relentless, or as fast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.