Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Finishing Touches

After spending most of yesterday working on the nest, I suspect Missus is almost done putting the final details in place.  I had a quick peek this afternoon when they were both off doing whatever bluebirds do and I saw that she is lining the indentation with feathers and bits of fur.  The nest appears to be about 3-4 inches deep with the indentation for eggs probably an inch.  I will be checking every afternoon now so I can determine when the first and last eggs are laid.  Exciting times!

Jax and I have done a bunch of "drop it" and "leave it" training today, plus a walk plus some prong time in the driveway.  Hubs will take him out for some more play and training while I'm making dinner later.  I hope I am not being overly optimistic, but I think he is starting to get the drops and leaves.  And he was definitely well behaved on the leash today (front connect harness).  We had a few distractions and some times when he wanted to sit down and watch something, but mostly he walked well on a loose leash.  Probably lulling me into a false sense of achievement, the little shit.

Dad is having a surgical procedure on Thursday and I'm feeling helpless at 2500 miles away.  But he and mom were firm that I needn't/shouldn't  come out and I am respecting that.  But I reserve the right to worry.

Happily, my mammogram results came back and all is well.  So I am now officially one year breast cancer-free.  It was one year ago today that I had a tumor removed from my left breast.  Four more years until I am officially a survivor although I feel 100% like a survivor already.  Happy Surgeversary to me!

Dark with raspberries today.  Love the sweet and tart combo.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.