Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Future Goslings

I dropped Jax off at Day Care this morning, and immediately set out to a nearby fish hatchery that usually has a good number of nesting Canada geese and Mallards.  I was hoping for ducklings/goslings but instead I found quite a few birds settled down on nests.  This nest was not more than about 8 feet from the trail which I thought was a bit ill-advised.  In fact, I had to turn around because the mate was starting to make threatening hissing noises at me.  Retreat is the better part of valor at times like that.  I was happy that she raised up off the nest for just a moment to rearrange the eggs, allowing me this shot.  There is a certain tenderness to it, I think.

And because I only managed about 3 hours of sleep last night, I came home and had a long nap.  Then texted with my dad who is waiting on pins and needles to get his time slot tomorrow for the surgical procedure.  I know we will all be glad when it is done and he is back at home resting.  

Tomorrow morning we are taking Jax to the vet to see if they can manage to clip his nails.  First step will be to give him a mild sedative which means that he will be pretty much out of it for much of the day.  I hate doing this, but we have had zero luck clipping his nails and they are getting way too long to be healthy.  So, not looking forward to that.  

It is quite chilly and very windy today so even while I managed to be out for awhile, I was thoroughly chilled when I got back home.  Hot tea is my friend!

I had a celebratory glass of rose wine last night (pink in honor of breast cancer) to celebrate my first year cancer-free.  Also coming up on the 14th anniversary of having a brain tumor removed.  Apparently spring is a big tumor time of year for me.  Lol.

Staying with the dark with raspberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.