Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red Belly

A more apt name would probably be Orange Belly, but never the less, this is a red bellied woodpecker (male).  I blipped the female HERE so you can see the difference between the sexes.  This species is widely distributed in N. America and readily visits feeders, especially for suet.  As best I can tell, there are two pairs visiting our feeders - and when two of the same sex arrive at the same time there is a lot of chatter and trash-talking, as well as an occasional chase through the trees.  

Jax is at day care where he is hopefully getting in some good play time with his dog buddies.  I am taking advantage of the day to get some things pulled together for my trip to CR and just catch up on a few things around the house.  I wanted to treat all of my clothes for Costa Rica with a mosquito repellant so that's now been done (the treatment lasts approximately 3 months and through multiple washes).  I also need to start rounding up some of the camera gear that I plan to take (tripod, raynox lens, cards, chargers, etc).  We will be doing a couple of days of macro photography so I need to make sure I have what I need for that.  And, yes, I am getting very excited about the trip!  I wired some additional funds down to the tour guide and he confirmed receipt today, so all is lock-and-load.  

Dark with a hint of chili today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.