Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red-Bellied Woodpecker

Honestly, I don't think this is the most descriptive name for this medium sized woodpecker because 1) it's more orange than red and 2) it's so faint on some individuals that it's barely visible at all.  But only one woman's opinion.  In any case, they are beautiful, eye catching woodpeckers  and very common throughout much of the United States and Canada.  This is a female, easy to distinguish because of her partial cap (male's are reddish orange from black down the back of the neck.). 

We've had a bit of a rollercoaster day.  Hubs was feeling a little stuffy this morning so decided to do a rapid test - which came back positive!  Vexing, to say the least.  Meanwhile, I am feeling back to normal so I also tested and initially thought I was Negative - until a closer look revealed a faint second line.  Which means I still need to be careful not to spread this to anyone else.  Hubs scheduled an appointment for a drive-through PCR test today so that should be a better indicator of whether he's having a rebound case or not.  Should get those results tomorrow.  

It was gloriously warm today - up to 64 F this afternoon!  It's overcast but so pleasant out.  I took Jax for a walk on the Lane and then when we got back I set my hide up outside and enjoyed some time with my camera and the birds.  

I took out insurance on my trip to the Pribilof Islands today.  Travel insurance, not surprisingly, has gone up in the last few years, but still a bargain in terms of peace of mind.  It's an expensive trip and I'd hate to lose all that money in the event of cancer, covid or some other thing life throughs my way.  I need to take out a policy on my 2024 trip to S. Africa too.  The things you never worried about when younger.

I had a lovely dark chocolate truffle today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.