Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yard Birds - continued

In spite of the day being mostly rainy, I found a break in the weather and scooted outside to grab some shots.  I had about given up on seeing anything unusual...until I looked out and saw this.  This beautiful male Yellow Bellied Sapsucker (a member of the woodpecker family) showed up during the very cold weather before Christmas, no doubt attracted by the hoards of birds who hang out with us.  I hadn't seen him for several days and assumed he'd moved on, so when I saw him at the suet feeder, it made me smile.  The shot was not one I would normally have taken (or kept) because he was on the feeder, not to mention the higher ISO because of the low light conditions.  But, but, but...with some creative editing and a tight crop, I think the shot is interesting.  Not award winning, but interesting.  I am tagging it for my 2023 YardBirds record although reserve the right untag it if I get a better shot.

I am still testing Positive for Covid so I am continuing in my self-imposed house arrest.  I can't see any reason to potentially give this to someone else just because I'm a little bored sitting at home.  I actually feel pretty good today - was lightheaded and tired again this morning but now feeing fine.  Hopefully tomorrow when I test, I'll be back to one line!  And I also took my last dose of Paxlovid this morning - yay!  Looking forward to not having that weird metallic/chewed aspiring taste in my mouth constantly.  Of course, it's still lingering right now, but should be totally gone by tomorrow.  Food hasn't been very appealing lately and, as a consequence, I've lost more weight than I should.  Good. grief - I can't even believe I am saying that.  

Unfortunately, because of my covid status, I had to cancel our first Nosework class today.  So bummed because I know Jax is going to love this class.  But, the instructor has promised to bring us up to date before next week's class.  

Two squares of dark today - just because.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.