Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, Lovely

I managed to get out for a while today, enjoying very mild (for January) temps.  Jax was content to sit inside and watch me, which made the bird-life a lot easier to photograph.  I had my sights set on a Blue Jay who was doing an uncanny hawk imitation when my eye caught some movement to the side of the Jay - and to my utter surprise, there was a Northern Mockingbird!  Not that they are rare here but I almost never see them in my yard.  In fact, I haven't seen one in the yard in probably 3-4 years.  They are elegant looking birds, in the mimidae (mimic thrush) family and are accomplished mimics.  The "songs" of the mockingbirds are almost always repeated in series of three, before the bird moves onto the next song in his repertoire.  Anyway, since I have no idea when I might see another, I am using this image for my 2023 YardBirds list.  

I am still experiencing some covid symptoms, today a little fatigue and a rather peculiar lack of balance/lightheadedness.  I'm moving about with caution and resting when I feel the need.  But in spite of that, hubs and I took the Boy out for a walk this afternoon - just up and down the Lane, but good for all of us.  Jax is now stretched out in front of the fire and I am on the sofa and it's entirely possible a nap may break out.  

Dark, plain and perfect, today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.