Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yardbird #2

The moment I went outside this morning to put the feeders out, I could hear the distinctive whinnies and calls of American Robins. A quick walk abound to the front of the house confirmed it - probably 100-150 of them low on the cedar trees, gobbling berries.  

Since Jax was bored and needed something to do, I loaded him into the car and parked it in the driveway next to our little cedar grove, right at eye level with the robins.  There is this small window every year, when the waxwings and robins have eaten all the berries at the top of the trees and move lower to finish off the feast.  At best they may be at this level 2-3 mornings and I frequently miss it.  Today, however, with my able canine assistant avidly watching from the backseat, I was able to shoot to my heart's content.  A great start to the day.

Today's bird is a male American Robin with a cedar berry in his beak.  I will put the female in Extra so you can see the difference between the two. 

Later I took the pup to the park for a longer walk.  As usual, he wanted to greet everyone and those who were dog friendly gave him lots of praise and pets which he rewarded with kisses.  He's such a good natured dog and he really does charm most everyone he meets.  Now he is passed out on the sofa, a happy little brindle bundle.

I think it it will be a pizza night tonight since I never got to the store today.  And I really don't feel like cooking.  And today's chocolate was dark with almonds and sea salt, a delicious combination

Tomorrow morning I have a follow up with my oncologist.  The newest medication is starting to give me joint pain so I want to talk with her about things I can do to mitigate the pain without changing drugs again. Because this type of drug really helps to prevent the recurrence of estrogen-fed cancers, I don't want to stop taking it  But I also don't want to deal with joint pain if there is something I can do about it.   I've several ideas I want to discuss with her, so we'll see.

Our recent rather balmy weather is going to come to a screeching halt tomorrow with the high only getting to 30 F.  A far cry from today's low 50's.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.