No 1

Not my best picture today but it is my first kingfisher.  This morning we walked on the cycle trail and the estuary was like glass.  We shared the trail with older bikers in bright fluro vests and riding e-bikes,  children riding with their mums because it is school holidays, two woman runners who looked serious and like they are training for an event, older couples walking and a older gentleman had just finished having morning tea at a table  and walked slowly back to his car using a walking stick.  
After our walk we went to have a late morning tea with the brother and sister in law  who are just back from a trip down to the bottom of the South Island in their camper van.  It had to be this song.

Bird On A Wire    Leonard Cohen 

Like a bird on the wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free

Like a worm on a hook
Like a knight from some old-fashioned book
I have saved all my ribbons for thee
If I, if I have been unkind
I hope that you can just let it go by
If I, if I have been untrue
I hope you know it was never to you . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.