Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Bleeding Heart

Not the most successful of days which started with the whole site being out of hot water as there was an issue with their Biomass boiler. It was soon fixed, but not before most people had made their way over to reception to report it at 9am when it opened :)
Then the café at the Grizedale Forest Visitor Centre where I had planned on leaving my Dad whilst I went for a walk with my Mum, was closed. So we headed to Hawkeshead to try and find somewhere for a quick lunch (since we are going out for a meal this evening). After a quick walk around the small village, we couldn't find anywhere that just served sandwiches or similar that wasn't either full or closed on a Thursday. One guy at one of the pubs said that the villagers were really struggling and a couple of the teashops had closed during Covid and not reopened. 
So, that was £6 paid in parking fees so far and no luck at all. So we decided to head back to Merlewood for a sandwich. My sense of direction is very poor and Mum was navigating from the back seat and somewhere near Coniston I must have taken a wrong turning and we didn't realise until we were nearly at Broughton! By the time we got back it was gone 2pm...
After lunch I took a walk around the site again hoping to find an insect or butterfly to photograph, but they were in very short supply. I didn't even like any of the bluebell shots I took, so here is my bleeding heart instead! We don't have them in our garden, but I quite like them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.