This is the day

By wrencottage

Andy Pandy rules, OK!

A hair cut this morning, after which I popped in to the Atrium to check the card stand, and was given several orders while I sat and had coffee with a friend I bumped into. Then home to start producing said orders, without having taken a suitable photograph for today.

So, following on from yesterday's somewhat lengthy blip about my father's tennis racket, I thought it would be fun to use this photo today. It's the BBC script for the 1952 Wimbledon Championships, when my father was standing in for a few days to cover for someone who was sick.

This was the days of just one television channel, of course, so it was necessary to interrupt the Wimbledon transmission to go back to the studio for 15 minutes so that the children didn't miss their favourite "Andy Pandy". 

And quite right, too. Andy Pandy was very special, as I'm sure those of us of a certain generation will agree ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.