This is the day

By wrencottage

Hunt the thimble

It's been a busy day today. We have son #1, his partner and granddaughter #1 coming to stay tomorrow, so I was intending to spend the day cooking. My best laid plans went slightly awry when the doorbell rang at 11.00 am to herald the unexpected arrival of son #2 (who's on holiday from work) and granddaughter #3 (aged 2), who had come to visit Granny and Grandpa so Mummy could get some jobs done!

One of the games I played with H was hunt the thimble, but I clearly don't have the knack of explaining the rules very well. After I'd duly hidden the thimble in full view on the small table beside my chair, which she found very quickly, I told her it was her turn. She solemnly took the thimble, went out to the kitchen, then came running back with it in her hand, shouting, "I've found it!".

She had a couple of hours' nap this afternoon, during which time I did some of the cooking, and then I finished after they'd gone. I'm done in now, but rest assured granddaughter #1 will not be disappointed when she looks for her lemon cake the minute she arrives tomorrow. (She won't fancy the spinach stuffed pancakes though.)

[NB I couldn't get H to stay still for long enough to get the thimble in focus!]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.