Sated

I believe this is the first time I've blipped a plate of food! Today's lunch definitely deserves a mention.

Christine called me this morning and asked if I'd like to go out to lunch, the condition that I arrive on time as we had to be seated at table at midday. My timekeeping is well known to be erratic!

Minutes after arriving, a waiter held a chair to help my jeans clad backside to sit in front of a table, perfectly laid for four courses. Christine hadn't mentioned that the meal was going to be formal!

The first course you can see above. A delicious light Pâté served with cranberry sauce, caramelised onions and Melba toast. I was most impressed.

A hitch in the kitchen brought the fish before the soup but, I've no complaint. The rolled Plaice with samphire and white asparagus tips was beyond delicious. The fish was cooked absolutely to the point, as was the samphire, with only the asparagus needing just a touch more cooking for my taste. I'm a fish fanatic and the serving of perfect fish is almost as rare as rocking horse sh**!

Mixed feelings followed for the Minestrone. Christine loved it but, having lived too long in Italy, I'm not appreciative of overcooked and soggy pasta and despite the seasoning being perfect, for me, the dish lacked overall flavour. The change of course order may have partially caused this.

Sausage with apricots, rolled in Pork Belly, followed on a bed of chopped vegetables. The crackling wasn't missing either. It was full of flavour and just the right quantity to finish our meal.

I wouldn't normally list the menu of my meal but this restaurant is special. The students on a cookery course at Guildford College were being examined today and we had been asked if we'd go and eat one of the chefs meals. No, it wasn't absolutely perfect but the hiccups were minimal and I've been nitpicking only for the occasion. I've paid over £30 per head for similar meals, of vastly inferior quality. Our total bill for two, including a glass of wine for me was less than £10.

The Parkroom Restaurant at Guildford College is open to the public Tuesdays to Fridays for lunches and Wednesday evenings. A table selling their pastries and cakes is available everyday at lunchtime. I brought home Calzone, quiche and some savoury biscuits for the price of a sandwich in a garage! I cannot recommend it enough!

Anyone for a fine food Blipmeet in Guildford?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.