a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Velvet Bottom ...

No, its not an advert for a new luxury brand of toilet paper, but a nature reserve at Cheddar on the Mendips.

For the first time in ages, the forecast seemed to suggest that we might have a decent conditions for an early landscape shot this morning - you know the sort of thing, sunshine and a little mist.  So I got up early and headed out to the Mendips to try to make the most of it.  Sadly although there was some mist, high cloud completely emasculated the sunrise.  There was a bit of a glow in the East for a very short while as you can see, but nothing about the sky that made it worth capturing as the main element of a photo.  

Instead I took the opportunity of visiting the Velvet Bottom nature reserve while no one else was about.  To be fair, at 6am with the temperature at 0.5C I think any sensible people where still snuggled down under their duvets.  I was glad of my coat, gloves and hat.  But the bird song was delightful and the solitude very pleasant as I walked through the limestone scenery.

As you can see, its an interesting looking place for Somerset.  If I were to tell you that this was the North Yorkshire moors I dare say you wouldn't be too surprised. 

I didn't see any wandering wizards or mystical looking creatures, in this faerie dell.  There were plenty of ravens,  wild goats and roe deer though. There are 3 goats in the centre of the image, if you look very carefully, but I don't think they were the Billy Goats gruff. I may well go back with a longer lens in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.