The Passage of Time

When I first visited this area, these two derelict buildings were deep in gloomy, almost grass-less woodland, trees growing within their walls.  In recent years they seem to have become more visible, perhaps as the trees age and fall.  Certainly Ash Die Back is taking it's toll along this valley.   Today, lit up by the spring sunshine they seem altogether less dark and sad than they once did.   I wonder who lived in them ... and when.

A work day at Aber Cafe, covering for covid.  Not a busy day with two others rostered, I thought my main role would be to open and close the day and that there could be a long break in the middle.  So I took Meg with me, hoping for a long walk.  As it turned out, one of the remaining two, a volunteer, was unavailable today so Meg's walk was much shorter although I did have her out of the car at regular intervals and indoors, tied to a table when there was no-one else about.   It was a happy chance that just as we finished off, C messaged to say that her Meg was needing a run, so we met up at Ynysymaengwyn which is one my route home.  Both dogs enjoyed a chance to run along the sheep-free stretches by the river and the two of us enjoyed the walk and the chat.

In theory a weekend off ahead, covid permitting.  It's 70's gala weekend on the railway so I might just take a ride up the valley.   Eight trains a day, roughly recreating one of the 70's timetables and there's food and live music at Wharf on Sunday night so we're hoping the weather has read the script!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.