The best day - happy anniversary to us!

I can honestly say, you do not need loads of money to create unforgettable moments. And as I type this I am experiencing one of those priceless moments for the first time. How has it taken me until 56 years old to wild camp on the beach, watching the perfect magenta sun, set in a clear almost cloudless sky. It has been beautiful. And I get to do it with the perfect man.

Roll back the hours to 8 when he brought me a cup of tea in bed, then we exchanged slushy cards! Why not! Then Jon cooked a proper but healthy fry up for breakfast while I made myself beautiful. We ate in the conservatory at a leisurely pace.

We then packed the car up for our mystery day out - neither of us had properly decided where to go. I think our car had taken on the guise of 'Herbie' as we ended up at Holt garden centre for a coffee and scones. Jon had been dubious, but I insisted their cafe had been revamped. It was lovely and he was pleased!

After splashing out £51 on plants and stuff, we got on the road - next stop Wells-next- the- Sea where we grabbed some bits in the co-op and took them down to the lively sandy beach with our little beach chairs. Ate, and just sat watching the world go by. There were 5 seals sunning themselves.

After an hour or so we drove the short way to Holkham Hall where we had a lovely walk around the grounds, went in the shops and had tea and cake in the courtyard cafe. Another nice shop. These lovely places on our doorstep - we must come more often!

Then we drove home via Walsingham, then on to Binham to the Priory, where I had had the fortune to spend an afternoon singing with my group last November. We loved the ruins and it oozed atmosphere and history. I'll add some photos in my extras for those not on Facebook.

Finally at 6 we got in the car and drove back via Holt where we picked up a Chinese and brought it to the beach...where we are now. We have these great little beach chairs - although quite a challenge getting up from them!

We ate first, then Jon went back to the car several times to collect our tent and other bits. All up and ready for the night, and in time to see the last of the sun as it dipped beyond the horizon having done another full and wonderful days work.

We have the beach to ourselves, save for 1 fisherman- it had been 3. It is peaceful, and relaxing and the best way to spend our 33rd wedding anniversary....perhaps we don't need an expensive caravan after all! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.