34 years...and still making memories

A little different to last year, when we chose to spend our anniversary camping out on Weybourne beach. At least the weather has caught up with us and with some sun, we chose coffee on site. Our little inside table slides into the runner on the outside and we had coffee in the sun before driving the short distance up the road, through the pretty village of Dersingham to the Norfolk Lavender place. We enjoyed a mooch about, and I bought a couple of the smallest lavender bushes (it wasn't cheap). Then we drove along to Heacham and bought some lunch before heading to the beach at Hunstanton to eat and read. The sun was out but it was breezy. It was nice to see lots of families enjoying the beach and children in the sea (I think it is still too cold even for me!) We watched speed boats with a water skier going very fast....and discussed why anyone would want to do such a thing! We decided it was our age!

We read for a couple of hours, with the noise of the funfair behind us. We should have continued through Hunstanton to the other end. Anyway, we drove back via the country roads.

We had a nice wander round the site, then I cooked dinner. Sweet and sour 'chicken' (quorn) and rice. It did the job. It also broke a rotten tooth of mine, so I now have a huge hole. Not great as our dentist retired last month and they haven't found a replacement for him. Mind you, I wouldn't want him again, and I'm not sure this tooth can be saved. I think it had already been filled, and now there is hardly any tooth. We always get an expensive bill through just after we've spent money on something nice! I'll live with the broken tooth for now.

The campsite is very full. Most campers are in very big caravans or mobile homes. We found one much smaller cute eriba. We are super happy with ours. The bed stayed up all day, as we have the small seating area at the other end where we ate. We have lovely cards, and Jon bought me a beautiful Pandora bangle with a bead with my gemstone. I feel very loved.

Thank you to every single one of you for the kind wishes and love you have expressed on Facebook. We appreciate it so much. I said to Jon that it's a bit like being at your own funeral, as that is the one place where everyone says how wonderful you were, but you don't get to hear it. (And yes I know you are at your own funeral, but you know what I mean!!) I feel so fortunate to know so many lovely people, and isn't Facebook amazing, because it brings people back into your life that you may not see as often as you would like - or at all.

We are chilling in the caravan tonight, happy to just be in each other's company....34 years not bored - we might just get scrabble out!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.