The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Celtic pattern in stained glass

When I was a child, my aunt and uncle's flat in Dunard Terrace overlooked Oban glassworks. One day I was taken to the glassworks to see Caithness glass being made. I found the visit incredibly exciting. The fire element was what grabbed my attention, and the noise of a factory at work. Twenty five years later, Clean Steve and I visited the glass maker's workshop at Cirencester's Brewery Arts.This was  no less thrilling than my trip to the factory at Oban, and this time I noticed the the glass blowing.

The years have passed, and Oban glassworks is no more, and of course making stained glass objects involves different process. I just wanted to share the memory here, in case anyone else remembers Oban glassworks.

This stained glass piece was given to me by the family of the little boys I've been looking after, along with a bottle of locally made sparkling rosé wine. The father of the boys gave me the parcel yesterday, but I was about to take the boys to Gloucester, so I left the bag behind my stall and opened it today before the market got going. Needless to say, I'm delighted with my presents.

The market was good, though the hall was cold to begin with. We started to pack up at about 3pm and were home some time after four. Thank goodness I will now have a couple of days off to recuperate from my busy week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.