Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ella does it with style!

Today was the circular from Birdoswald, a Roman fort on Hadrian's Wall Trail. Jennifer ably led the 8.5 mile walk. The sun shone all morning and for most of the afternoon.

Most of the walk was in Cumbria. The stiles were nearly all very tricky. We find that the maintenance of Cumbrian stiles is very poor compared to Northumberland.

Here is Ella, 91 years young, negotiating a very wobbly stile. She and four other walkers from Edinburgh came down for a few days in Haltwhistle. They have been great fun to be with.

My extra is the bluebell wood by the River Irthing. I have never seen it as good as it is this year. Now I want to return before they go over and take my camera and tripod with me.

Tonight we had the Festival Social. It was very well organised. The people who told us tales stuck to the theme of the Wall, but with their own twist. 

We also celebrated Brian's 90th birthday, which was yesterday.

I am full of admiration for the organisers who have worked tirelessly and overcome some very significant hurdles to pull the festival together.

Two days to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.