Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A visitor from Mill Valley

Here is my very special friend, BJ, all the way from Mill Valley, just across the bridge from San Francisco. She has come to the UK for a couple of weeks this time and will finally make it to a Haltwhistle Walking Festival walk.

BJ walks with us on Wednesdays when she is in town. She calls us the 'Whistle Walkers. Today she had time to visit us in Humshaugh. Julie was free (just before her last session at the Book Festival and before she set off north to stay with friends in the Borders) so we had a really good chat.

BJ decided it was best not to pose. Unusually for me, out of 12 images, this was the only one I thought was OK. I like they way she is smiling and the laughter lines around her eye. I left her in colour; I an envious that she has kept her auburn tresses while mine have gone white!!

This morning I made two sorts of biscuits. One recipe was for chocolate chip cookies. I wasn't very impressed with them, although they are edible (and taste nice). The other was for almond biscuits from the Bero book. They are great.

An autofill on my computer put Mum's name down for tomorrow's long walk. I have changed to the shorter one, but seeing Rene Baillie ( 101 years old) on the list has caused a lot of amusement!

It rained all day today. I'm glad I was not walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.