Herb-paris

The sun shone and I headed out to Stonepit Close to do the preliminary vegetation mapping. It was quite hard to focus on the plants as there were lots of Dingy Skippers and Green Tiger Beetles enjoying the sunshine, along with smaller numbers of Grizzled Skippers and Green Hairstreak.

I'm leading a walk round Old Sulehay Forest tomorrow so did a quick recce of the route. I was glad to see that it was still looking wonderful, despite the dry weather, with sheets of Bluebells and Ramsons, as well as small populations of Herb-paris and Hard Shield-fern. I was particularly pleased to find the Herb-paris as I'd not been able to locate it on previous visits, largely because it's been overgrown by Dewberry. 

The only annoying part of my day was not being able to find my new prescription sunglasses which normally live in the car or in my field bag. I can't really remember when I last had them, but am worried that they might have dropped out of my bag somewhere, so I'll probably have to order another pair. Not cheap! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.