May Day Dakota

I was thinking about going to find maypole dancing this May Day but in the end decided to go to North Weald in the hope of getting a photograph of an interesting plane that I could use to make my son's birthday card. It was so quiet there. I noticed a man drive up in an Opel Manta GTE. An unusual sight. My brother-in-law used to have one of these.

We got fed up with waiting for aircraft. As I was putting Ollie dog into the Volvo Manta man jumped out of his car and said. "Don't go, it's about twenty minutes away." Turns out he and his lad had come to see a Dakota, which I think he said was flying from Headcorn. I had a lovely chat with him. He has had the Manta for thirty years. (Extras) I was so grateful to him for telling me about the Dakota. I'd forgotten how large they are. It taxied right up to where we were standing.

It was lovely to hear and see a big family of long tailed tits in the lakeside trees this morning. The fledglings are such messy little things. (Extras)       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.