A RAINY DAY IN NORTH YORKSHIRE

It has been a rainy day in North Yorkshire, but Sue’s friend, Marjorie, said that she would be happy to pick us up and take us to Mainsgill Farm Shop, which is not too far from where Sue lives.  

We were both up bright and early this morning and having sorted out several things for Sue, we were just about ready when Marjorie arrived.  The rain had stopped but as it was very grey and overcast, we realised we would be inside for most of the time, so weren’t too bothered.  When we arrived at Mainsgill, a very kind young man found us a space very close to the entrance, so Sue didn’t have to walk too far - and when you have to use two sticks to walk, even a short distance can seem like a ten mile hike!

Sue insisted on treating us to lunch, which was very nice, after which Marjorie and I had a wander around the huge shop while Sue sat in a comfortable chair - and believe me, the world and his wife from North Yorkshire were out in force today.  I saw a lovely little fluffy lamb and I’m sure I heard it bleat and ask if it could jump into my basket - and of course, as the Silly Saturday Gang is always glad to have new members, what could I say?  I also treated myself to a new apron and as it was my favourite colour, I didn’t have to think twice, so Sue kindly took a shot of me holding Larry and modelling the new mauve apron.  

There were several farm animals around, so I then went off to take photographs of the cows, ostriches and camel.  I never knew that cows had such long tongues and the middle photograph on the top line of my collage shows one of them “opening wide” and showing its teeth and tongue.  It was difficult to get a good shot of the ostriches and the camel was a long way from the entrance to the field, but I did the best I could.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to take any outdoor shots because by then the rain was coming down and although it wasn’t that heavy, it was the sort of rain that soaks you!

We didn’t hang around for too long but made our way back to Sue’s home where we had a welcome cup of coffee and my last chat with Marjorie before leaving tomorrow.  I did manage to persuade them both to be in the selfie although neither of them were terribly happy about it, but as I was the oldest one there, I think they were humouring me!

All in all, another lovely day - so now I have to pack and try to get all the extra bits and pieces into my case and rucksack.  The worst thing is going to be the 250g bag of tea leaves, which I bought for Mr. HCB at Betty’s last Thursday and which does smell rather “tea-like”!  I don’t fancy it in with my clothes, because I hate tea, so it will have to go into the rucksack with the various members of the SSG.  Mind you, it cost more than Larry Lamb so I will tell Mr. HCB to use it sparingly - and hope it was worth paying £36 per kilogram!

I have only known Marjorie for a few days, whereas my friendship with Sue goes back 50 years, but I’m sure we will all be great friends now - so thank you - I have had a great time with you both.

“To me, life is about creating memories; 
     the regular days kind of just blend in. 
You have to create special times 
     so that you will always remember them.”
Heidi Klum

P.S.  Thank you for your kind comments, stars and heart for yesterday’s Blip - sorry not to have responded, but they were all very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.