a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Burd

Yep, its another burd on a twig.  But it is a very cute bird as these things go.... I know I've featured these a fair bit before but I really like long tailed tits :-)

I was interested to see what you thought of the two shots from yesterday: the photo of the ball of spiderlings and the extra of the disturbed ball, with one spider "escaping".  

In the main the vast majority of you favoured the second image, for its narrative content, and I can entirely see why you said this.

I wonder however, what the situation would have been had you just seen the second image or even if the two images been reversed? As it was the first image of the tightly packed ball set the scene and added context for the second in which the spiders are on the move.  My long winded point being that I think the success of the second image depended to a significant degree on people having already seen the first.

For those of you that worry about this sort of thing, I can confirm that I did nothing to disturb the spiders.  The second image was taken when the sun was shining on the spiders and therefore they were inevitably more active.  The first image on the other hand was taken with flash when the spiders were in the shade and the sun had moved off them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.