In a Fog....

Before it became yet another dreary wet day, it was a wonderful foggy morning.. perfect for a quiet stroll through a misty woods, along a beach, or by a marsh...alone...a great time to think and enjoy some solitude - an uplifting way to start the day. I decided on a misty woods and drove down to the section of the conservation area where most folks go to feed the chickadees...but not usually on a weekday morning! 

It was early enough that the rest of the not-yet-retired world was heading for the freeway, the bus stop or the GO train station for the morning commute, or packing up the kids and sending them off to school. I just knew I would have some solitude there and I wasn't mistaken - I met only one jogger and one photographer... both focused on their alone-time too. 

It was also rather quiet in other ways too..I was quite surprised by a noticeable decline in the number of birds flitting about ...and seeing only a handful of Canada geese and ducks....Where were they all? They are usually everywhere, approaching you, almost asking for treats..but then I came across signs asking visitors to stop feeding the birds out of their hand in order to avoid spreading the Avian flu?  That is a recent request -  the first I had seen or heard of it...I wonder what has been happening?.. We are now asked to watch for and report any sign of a sick bird...How sad is that? 

On the upside? I saw lots and lots of deer! They were out in full force chomping on the grass and twigs along the trail... 

I was home sitting with my cat, sipping my first coffee of the day and sifting through over a hundred photos taken that misty morning, when the fog lifted and the dreariness of another wet day returned.

Timing is everything..... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.