Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Brough of Bursay

Another day of sight-seeing.  We drove up to the Brough of Bursay on the North-Western tip of the island.  It's one of my favourite places; at low tide you can walk across the causeway to the Brough itself where there are the remains of a Viking village.  Today the tide was coming in so we couldn't walk over but it made for some spectacular waves; a hint of these in my first extra.  My main photo is 'Zanzibar Cottage' which is available as a holiday rental; it always reminds me of one of the houses on the Falkland Islands.  Oh, and I added a second extra; OK, I know it's childish but why not?

Later we called at the Yellowbird Gallery just for a look as we've bought pictures there before.  Of course, we ended up buying another one.  Finally we visited the Neolithic settlement at Skara Brae; we've visited a couple of times before but it's always worth another look.

The day started off bright and sunny and I watched quite a few eider ducks in the bay outside our window first thing.  By the afternoon it got colder and windier with some light rain.  We'd thought of going out for a drink tonight but having got rather chilled I think we'll stay in round the fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.