Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Busy day

Another full day.  We drove over to Kirkwall to visit the museum, and after lunch went down to Lamb Holm to see the Italian Chapel.  We used to be able to just park the car and wander in but now there is a kiosk and you have to pay £3.50 to visit.  To be honest, it makes sense; it needs money to be maintained and the entrance fee will really help.  I was going to use my shot of the chapel for my blip but I've relegated it to an extra; read on.

On the way home we had a wander round the ancient Stones of Stenness before heading back to the cottage.  On arrival we found the boiler had stopped working so we had no heat or hot water.  A call to the owner and they came out but couldn't fix the problem until tomorrow, but we have an immersion heater and fan heaters so we'll be OK.  By the time that had been sorted and we'd eaten, we had a wander onto the jetty behind the house where I took this shot of the ferry coming in and also the second extra.  It's not warm so we needed coats but it was lovely to sit out for a while and watch the eider ducks squabbling.  And today we saw the first swallow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.