A Day In The Life

By Irish59

RBW, Esquire

It’s always thrilling for me to find a woodpecker on a tree vs. a suet feeder. While waiting for birds and listening to the mixed bird choir, I heard the distant chirping of the red-bellied woodpecker. Within minutes I heard it again but much closer this time. Thankful for my lens I watched a lengthy and involved preening session. He was looking quite dapper by the end, which his photo clearly confirms :) RBW also inserted his beak into the tree’s bark several times in search of bug snacks. It was fun catching his tongue extended a few inches out beyond his long beak. Such Slurpy Good Insects! A fitting tribute for Tongue-Out Tuesday :) • The third beautiful day in a row with rain forecasted tomorrow. All good things must come to an end. We bought groceries and visited the river for a short while this afternoon • Peace & Love from Maine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.