A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Dirt Cheap

It’s Mono Monday and today’s theme is Cheap Shot. A few ideas came to mind, and a few attempts were made, but like an unused bottle of tonic water, they fizzled out, flat as could be, and had to be discarded • On to Plan B, take today’s challenge literally. Plus, in two days, it’s Cinco de Mayo! • So, I decided to visit the best dive in town, the one place I know that serves up cold but cheap alcohol every time. They’re a little cheap on frills too, but they do most everything else right: good tunes, sassy waitstaff and all the nuts you can eat; the ambiance isn’t half bad either. I pulled myself up to the bar, tossed a quarter down, and in my most gravely voice said: “Give me your very best budget tequila.” I knew there would never be any ultra premium Patron Tequila, handcrafted from 100% Weber Blue Agave, poured into my shot glass, a glass the owner of the place claimed was hecho en México, but I wasn’t looking for that. Not today. No, I wanted a Cheap Shot, a watered down version of El Patron, with a few wedges of fresh lime on the side, and that’s exactly what I got • ¡Salud! • ¡Muchas Gracias a Laurie54!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.