Grey Heron

The young one was waiting for me at the entrance this morning along with the crow. They must have spotted me early because I did not see them fly over. I gave the crow a slice of the raw sardines and it buried it in the grass cuttings and hung around for more. The young one found an area where there were very little grass cuttings and got the rest of the sardines apart from a little bit of tail which I tossed to the crow. The young one was straight back to the nest area as soon as she was finished.
This afternoon I saw the heron flying from the water, it was quickly joined by the crow. I gave the crow a bit of sardine and it took off with it this time. Another crow came over and got a bit as well. The young one got the rest. The sardines seem to be more substantial than the pollock as she took off as soon as I closed the lid of the fish box. On the way up the hill my regular crow (I recognise it by a moulting patch) landed in front of me. A dog biscuit later and it was on it's way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.