CRUMBLE AND TART

We made a temporary fond farewell to G last night (he'll be back in 7 wees times).   I haven't been up to Oxenholme for such a long tme that it did look a little different, some places have been refurbished but plenty of others do need attention.

G's train was 30 minutes late in getting in, ue to signalling problems around London Euston way apparently, but it made up for it and he arrived in Embra only 15 minutes late, so no complaints.  Most trains seemed to be fairly busy but not horrendously so.  I'd forgotten just how many trains go through |Oxenholme and it was weird being there again.  

I did feel nervous about him getting on public transport aggain, but he was masked up, and he sanitisied his table himself, 'cos you're just not sure whether each table is fully sanitised after every person.  

Took a long long time to get to sleep last night, but once I did I slept well, so much so that I didn't wake  up untiil 9.00 am eeeeekkk.  THen panic panic, dashed around and suddenly realised - why the only thing I| have to do today is go out and vote in our local council elections.  It's dafter that even after 6 years of retiring i still feel guilty if I get up later that 8.00 am!! Probably because I spent most of my working life getting up at 6.00am and I don;t need to do that any more - yeaahh!!

Late in the morning we popped into Grange to make out vote - I do really believe it is so important to vote and if you don't vote you shouldn't complain 'cos that is your once chance to try and change things if you want to.

After that we awalked on down to The Hazlemere and had a lovely unch.  I do like it in there beause the staff still wear masks, the tables are still well spaced and they sanitise after every use, it just makes me feel  more comfortable.  The food is good too.

We decided to have a proper lunch as Hubby will be going to the pub later with his friends so we now don''t need to cook.  I only had a small portion of their scampi followed by strawberry tart and Hubby had a large portion of scampi followed fo apple and rhubarb crumble and custard (his favourite dessert.  I have no idea who the couple in the photo at the bottom are, I've tried not to make them the focus of the photo, just part of it.

Then we had a good brisk walk along some of the prom and Grange to try and walk some of that off before heading home.

That's all for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.