A is for apple.

Thanks for all your lovely comments for my powerful Jedi yesterday. 

Sheesh I felt knackered after all those kids had left. But Mr R didn't get home until 10 so it wasn't a early night. 

Today and tomorrow I am on babysitting duties. 

Twice today I came across people that were rude on the whole autism front. Well one was rude and I don't even think that they thought they were, and the second I guess just needs some awareness so I'll forgive their slight rudeness. Apologies now for the rant. 

The first person was talking to Carson. I said " oh he won't reply to you, he has autism and doesn't really interact with anyone. Their reply " well we're all autistic aren't we and we all have autism" . God how many people do I come across that actually say this. I want to give them a shake and reply with " do you like to flap your hands and constantly jump.... Do you like to sook on stones and eat sudocream.... And sand....  Do you have a huge struggle with communication". Apologies but I could go on and on. 

The second one. " It's good to meet him in person, I didn't realise he has autism. He can talk and say word's. Lots of kids with autism can't speak" . I replied quite kindly to that and said well that's one of the myths that children with autism can't speak. I also said that Carson is great with his language but can't really communicate with people. He will quite happily go up to nana now and say to her " Alexa, play baby shark". Or just kept saying to the joiner" hello Holly ". 

With Xander I don't remember ever being so wound up. I certainly didn't get as many stupid comments. People would comment more on his meltdowns and his sensory overload. 

I'm glad that Carson isn't aware of it all. He's such a happy boy. He's been at my sister's Alexa since 3 asking her to play baby shark. 

I'm now going to get the Wildlings and their cousins ready for a play at the park. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.