Egyptian Goose

A couple of weeks back I had a disastrous photo session at Deeping Lakes.
 
Today was not a lot better.  I did have the right lens with me - the Tamron 150-600, and the doubler, so I could zoom in on most of the birds, but it was stretching things at 1200 mm and one or two hundred meters.  This was not good, especially with the combination of heat haze and high ISO.
 
I did manage some half reasonable shots of an Egyptian Goose which landed with a lot of noise in the pond beside us.  Now if I had thought to turn the ISO back down - well there you go and I have blipped the result.
 
 
Near disaster when the Tamron 150-600  slipped of the tripod mount when I was packing up.  Fortunately the only damage appears to be the lens cap.  Fingers crossed.   I blame myself because for the past few years I’ve been going to modify the retention slot in the lens shoe  (Arca-Swiss compatible) so that the safety catch in my Velbon tripod head would work - it has been modified now!!!.
 
 
Anyway we had a very pleasant couple of hours at the reserve, and I’m sure we will be back there in the not too distant future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.